Felony crimes are regarded with seriousness in Virginia, US. It is considered as a serious crime in the judicial system of Virginia. The class 6 felony first offense in Virginia is not treated as a misdemeanor crime. The consequences of class 6 felony first offense in Virginia are graver than that of a misdemeanor. However, it should also be noted that class 6 felonies are the least serious among the classification of felonies. This class of felonies is also known as “wobblers”. In certain cases, the class 6 felony first offense in Virginia is also treated as a misdemeanor by the court of law. The crimes such as cruelty towards animals, reckless endangerment, repeat larcenies, and violation of an order of the court are common examples of class felony offenses. The conviction for committing a felony may range from imprisonment for 5 years to being fined up to $2,500.
In Virginia, felony crimes are classified into six classes from 1 to 6, with 1 being the most severe felony crime, while class 6 being the least severe. A class 6 felony first offense in Virginia often demands the convicted to pay a certain amount of fine. In the case that an individual convicted of a class 6 felony first offense in Virginia fails to pay the fine within a span of 30 days, there can be significantly serious repercussions. The first action that is usually taken by the court for an individual that has failed to pay the fine is the suspension of the driver’s license. Although some traffic offenses come under the category of class 6 felonies in Virginia, the court has the authority to request the DMV to suspend the driving license of a felon even if the crime committed by the concerned is not related to driving.
Certain sex crimes are categorized as class 6 felony first offense in Virginia. For instance, invasion of privacy for sexual purposes, such as voyeurism can result is a class 6 felony first offense in Virginia. Moreover, convicted sex offenders are required by law to register themselves as sex offenders. Failure to do so can result in a class 6 felony first offense in Virginia. The law also allows individuals convicted of class 6 felony first offense in Virginia to pay their fines and other costs through alternative means such as community service. However, there are only certain circumstances in which this is possible, and only a criminal defense attorney experienced in the practice of law in Virginia can properly guide a convicted felon to pursue the option of performing community service to pay the fines and other court associated costs.
If an individual is charged with class 6 felony first offense in Virginia, should hire our experienced criminal defense attorney that can help you with getting through the felony charges. By hiring our experienced attorney, you can dismiss the charges or reduce them to the lower classification of a felony in Virginia. The consequences of a felony charge can be considerably dangerous for an individual. The reputation and status of the accused may be damaged, and job opportunities may become difficult to achieve. Therefore, any individual accused or convicted of class 6 felony first offense in Virginia should seek the help of our professional lawyer for proper guidance.