§ 46.2-707 Code of Virginia states that:
“Operating any uninsured without payment of fee; verification of insurance; false evidence of insurance”
Can You Drive A Vehicle Without Insurance In the state of Virginia?
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for looking after all of the car registration services. If Virginia’s DMV happens to finds out that a driver does not possess all the required insurance coverage and is still been found driving, the driver will be subjected to a fine of $500. Not only that, the driver will lose their driving privileges and the registration plate will be suspended.
The state of Virginia is one which posses strict dealing with those drivers caught driving without the insurance. The state has all the right and power to sentence a Class 3 misdemeanor on the uninsured driver if they fail to submit the license plate and still drive around uninsured. The driver will be provided with 30 days so that they can provide any pieces of evidence of insurance before any fine is charged and that no history of any liability insurance is found on the driver’s record.
Law enforcement officers can be found at traffic stops or an accident scene where they can ask the driver to see the insurance. If a Virginian driver cannot provide any solid evidence of valid insurance, they can charge you with severe penalties for this offense.
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Before a Virginian driver gets their car registration services, they need to be certain that they are fulfilling the state’s lowest auto insurance coverage registrations. The minimum coverage for the state of Virginia is:
- $25,000 for any physical injury, or even the death of one person
- $50,000 for physical injury, or even the death of two or more than two persons
- $20,000 for the damage to property
In the case where the driver is not able to acquire the insurance, they must pay a fee for the uninsured motor vehicle. Drivers are also made aware that this payment of the fee will not help them in providing insurance coverage. This fee will only help them in getting their vehicle registered in order to operate it for one year in the state of Virginia. At the end of that year, the driver will need to apply for the vehicle to be re-registered. Drivers can do so online or through some reliable third party.
How to Handle the Penalty Imposed
According to the state of Virginia’s legislature, any driver caught driving an automobile without insurance and without paying the fee required by UMV, an administrative hearing will be granted to the uninsured driver before their license is suspended or penalized.
Those uninsured drivers who wish to minimize their fines, keep their driver’s license, and avoid being sentenced to jail time, should get in touch with their Virginian attorney to fight their case. Being charged by the state of Virginia for Class 3 misdemeanor will mean getting your driver’s license as well as your vehicle registration suspended.